Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS)

The Construction Regulations require that certain construction workers carrying out safety critical tasks must complete Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) training.

On successful completion of this training, persons are given a CSCS card. These cards demonstrate that the worker has received training in the relevant skills.

The task requiring CSCS training are as follows:

  • Scaffolding - basic
  • Scaffolding - advanced
  • Mobile tower scaffold - where the employee has not been trained in either Scaffolding Basic or Scaffolding Advanced
  • Tower crane operation
  • Self erecting tower crane operation - where the employee has not been trained in Tower crane operation
  • Slinging/Signalling (This involves slinging of loads on lifting equipment and signalling plant drivers regarding the placing of loads)
  • Tractor/Dozer operation
  • Mobile crane operation
  • Crawler crane operation
  • Articulated dumper operation
  • Site dumper operation
  • 180 degree excavator operation
  • Mini-digger operation
  • 360 degree excavator operation
  • Roof and wall cladding/sheeting
  • Built-up roof felting
  • Signing, lighting and guarding on roads
  • Assisting in the implementation of health and safety at roadworks
  • Locating under-ground services
  • Shotfiring

Other tasks may be prescribed officially in the future.

For further information about the CSCS programme visit the SOLAS website.

Further Information