Local Government


Local government in Ireland consists of a number of local and regional authorities and municipal districts. Local government is organised into County and City Councils, municipal districts and regional assemblies.


Local Authorities have responsibility for delivery of a wide range of services in their local area these services include:

  • Environment
  • Fire & Emergency
  • Water Services
  • Roads
  • Housing
  • Planning
  • Motor tax
  • Finance
  • Library & recreation
  • Parks & heritage

Given the diversity of services the Local Authorities must  manage health and safety in a wide range of work activities and work settings. 

Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment

Section 19 of the Safety Health and Welfare at Work Act requires employers to:

  • identify the hazards in the workplaces under their control
  • assess the risks presented by those hazards.

Employers must document their risks assessments and the safety measures to eliminate, control or minimise the risk.

The outcome of hazard identification and risk assessment process will be that the right risks have been identified and prioritised for action. These must be communicated to staff.  See guidance document in footer for further information.

Occupational hazards

Some aspects of Local Authority work can present a risk of real harm or suffering to employees, contractors, service users and the public, including

Workplace Health and Safety Management

The Workplace Health and Safety Management Guidance available below aims to give practical advice and recommendations on developing an occupational safety, health and welfare management system for larger workplaces with an already well defined management structure.

The Local Government Management Agency (LGMA) is a state agency of the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government. It is a shared repository of best practice providing research and specialist expertise for the Local Government sector, including in the area of occupational safety management.