Competent Authority Recognitions

To reflect scientific and technical progress or where no standard is referenced in the ADR, or to deal with specific aspects not addressed in a standard referenced in the ADR, the competent authority may recognise the use of a technical code providing the same level of safety.  The ADR specifies when a CA Recognition is required, and in such cases, operators need to apply to the Competent Authority for such recognitions.

Requests for Competent Authority Recognitions may be made by completing a Form for Application, which can be emailed to the Authority at

Current CA Recognitions issued by the Health and Safety Authority: 

Recognition No.

Standard/Technical Code Reference


Valid from

CA (R) 01/20221

Titles as listed in CA (R) 01/2022Recognition of standards and technical codes in accordance with ADR 6.7.2, 6.7.3, 6.7.4 and 6.7.531 January 2022

1 As there is no standard for the design, construction and testing of portable tanks and UN multiple element gas containers (MEGCs) referenced in ADR Chapter 6.7, the requirements for alternative arrangements for the design, construction and testing requirements and methods other than those in Chapter 6.7 may be recognised by the competent authority in accordance with 6.7.2, 6.7.3, 6.7.4. and 6.7.5.